Search Site
How does the Fair Housing Act protect me from discrimination?

The United States has many laws that protect individuals from being discriminated against in situations such as obtaining a job, practicing religion, who you choose to marry, and even where you live. The Fair Housing Act exists to ensure that no one is discriminated against based upon their disability, religion, race, color, sex, or whether they have children. There are a number of acts that are prohibited under the Fair Housing Act.

Anyone selling or renting a home is not permitted to use the previously mentioned excuses as a basis for discrimination on matters of:

  • refusing to sell or rent a home to you
  • refuse to give you a mortgage
  • convince homeowners to sell their house (blockbusting)
  • claim that housing is unavailable or purposely make housing unavailable
  • refuse to negotiate with you about cost or accommodations for a disability
  • impose different terms that others don’t have

If you have a disability, there are other factors you are protected from. For example, if you need to make reasonable changes to your home (such as the installation of a wheelchair ramp, etc.) your landlord must allow you to do so. All buildings built after March 1991 must be wheelchair accessible.

It is important that you are aware of your rights under the Fair Housing Act and if you believe you are being discriminated against, you should speak with an attorney.

If you require experienced legal representation for any of your residential and commercial real estate, bankruptcy, or family law matters, contact the Mark Scollar Law Office today to schedule a consultation.

Contact us

Please fill out the form below and one of our attorneys will contact you.

Quick Contact Form

Our Offices
  • Staten Island Office
    1031 Victory Boulevard
    Staten Island, New York 10301
    Phone: 718-720-4505
    Fax: 718-720-5153
  • Manhattan Office
    47 East 87th Street
    New York, New York 10128
Well Done!
Marc was prompt and effectively outlined the options available to me. I really trust his recommendations.
- Keith (5 star review)

Read All Client Reviews
Ratings and Reviews