Search Site
What is the Fair Housing Act?

When you are looking to buy or rent a home, it is important that you know your rights so you are not taken advantage of or denied housing. The Fair Housing Act protects potential tenants or buyers from being discriminated against when they are looking to purchase, rent, or obtain a mortgage.  This law prevents people from discrimination due to their race, sex, physical or mental disability, nationality, religion, color, or familial status.

It is important to be aware that the Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to threaten or interfere with anyone who assists another person in practicing fair housing rights or those who are practicing these rights themselves. Landlords and home sellers are not permitted to indicate that they will give certain preference to a specific class of individuals based on race, origin, familial status, color, disability, sex, or religion. In addition, there are a number of different protections that should be made available for persons with disabilities that you should be aware of. If you or someone who lives with you has a disability, a landlord must allow you to make accommodations (as long as they are reasonable) that allow you to live in the housing unit. For example, if the landlord generally does not allow pets in the housing unit but the tenant is blind, they must allow the tenant to have a seeing eye dog.

The only housing complexes that are able to discriminate against age are those specifically designated for residents age 62 and older. If you believe you have been discriminated against when trying to buy or rent a home, contact an experienced attorney who can provide you with assistance.

If you require experienced legal representation for any of your residential and commercial real estate, bankruptcy, or family law matters, contact the Mark Scollar Law Office today to schedule a consultation.

Contact us

Please fill out the form below and one of our attorneys will contact you.

Quick Contact Form

Our Offices
  • Staten Island Office
    1031 Victory Boulevard
    Staten Island, New York 10301
    Phone: 718-720-4505
    Fax: 718-720-5153
  • Manhattan Office
    47 East 87th Street
    New York, New York 10128
Well Done!
Marc was prompt and effectively outlined the options available to me. I really trust his recommendations.
- Keith (5 star review)

Read All Client Reviews
Ratings and Reviews